jump to navigation

DarkXL Continues September 22, 2010

Posted by luciusdxl in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I posted at the DaggerXL forums a couple of days ago I’ve been unable to work on anything hobby related for the last couple of months. You can read a little about the reasons here.

Despite the recent snafu with the df-21.net site, that was merely an error – I don’t plan on letting the site go away. Sorry about that, I paid for another 2 years up front so the site will be good for a while.

As for DarkXL, I plan on reviving the project after it’s long haitus. My time is still extremely limited but it is getting better, so things will start off a little slow for a while.

So here’s the plan:
1) Clean up the existing code and functionality. Make a build.
2) Focus on the logics and INF needed to get the game fully playable. I will probably ignore some cosmetic bugs at this point – the idea is to get the project to a usable state and worry about the polish later.
3) Port to OpenGL to make porting to different platforms easier adding too much complexity to the renderer.
4) Release the source code.
5) Go back and fix up cosmetic bugs, polish.
6) Return to the level editor, multiplayer and all that kind of stuff. Once the core project is fully complete.

Thanks for all your patience.

Comments»

1. Galaxy - September 22, 2010

As someone that has been checking this site daily for any update I am very glad that you are continuing with this project. I’m a huge DF fan since the day it was released, and thought the Jedi Academy remake was good in its way, this project is actually a lot more attractive to me, so I just want to say that I appreciate your efforts very much! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

